So as most of you know I am on the perpetual search for the perfect diet and exercise program that will allow me to lose weight which not starving and having fun. After watching my friend, Amanda literally transform her body doing Crossfit and Paleo I decided to give it a shot.

Crossfit is based on strength, cardio, functional, and gymnastics movements which an emphasis on heavy weight lifting. So far Crossfit is extremely challenging, and I find that I am sore most of the time, which I can only assume, is a good thing! (Kidding sort of.) At Crossfit they speak Paleo like it is a religion. Basically the Paleo diet is based on the diet of our Paleolithic ancestors and on books like The Primal Diet by Mark Sisson and The Paleo Solution by Robb Wolf. The diet consists of lean meats, proteins, healthy fats like nuts, seeds, avocado and healthy carbs from fruits and vegetables. No dairy, gluten, carby stuff, sugar etc. I don’t think I have lost any weight yet, so my coaches are suggesting that I “zone” the whole thing. Oy so much work. I need to either zone it or start back counting Weight Watchers points. Here is a recipe from Heathereatsalmondbutter.com that I made this week and loved!

Pumpkin Stir-fry
Directions: Cook about a cup of sliced cabbage, 1 chopped carrot, 1 stalk of chopped celery, a few sliced mushrooms, and 1 strip of copped bacon in 1 TBSP butter. After your veggies are cooked, add 1/4 pound ground beef. Once the meat is cooked through, stir in 1 heaping TBSP of yellow mustard plus 1/2 cup canned pumpkin

In addition, Mike and I took Rocky (our 5 month old puppy) to Red Bud Isle to teach him to swim. So much fun and Rocky is swimming like a little otter! I got to wear my new Aquasocks to protect my feet in the rocky water. I know, I know, does anyone even wear Aquasocks anymore?


